Next Fixtures & Updates

  • Wingate - Thu 22 Nov @ 6 pm
  • EL Knockout Rnd 1 - Sun 25 Nov @ 2.15pm
  • Rennie - Tue 27 Nov @ 7.30 pm
  • Rennie - Tue 4 Dec @ 7.30 pm
  • Wingate - Wed 5 Dec @ 5.30 pm
  • Website last updated 18-11-18

Saturday, 27 January 2018

The Swan Trophy

Congratulations to our teams led by Morgan Nicoll (in stead of James Logan) and Willie Kerr.  The record books show that the last time we won this prestigious trophy was back in 1964.  After this years final the record books will STILL show that the last time that we won was 1964 !
In the semi-finals we secured two relatively comfortable wins against Corstorphine to qualify for an early lunch andslot in the final.  Meanwhile Penicuik were taking Currie and Balerno to the wire. In the end C&B had just enough juice to squeeze through.
Despite our best efforts to rush them back onto the ice, they took their time recovering before heading onto the ice for a very cagey final.  After two ends the aggregate scores were tied at 1 - 1, with two (deliberately) blanked ends.  The scores ebbed and flowed however in the second last end a superb draw and tap back from Robin Copland secured a big score of 4 and the result was beyond rescue.  (Although a fall back in the last end denied Willie a 4).  For the record the final aggregate score was 16 - 6 but this does not come close to describing the run of play.
So, Congratulations again to Willie Kerr, Sandy Nicoll, Graeme Maguire, Shelagh Main and to Morgan Nicoll, James Pate, John Good and Andy Aberdein who ALL made C&B have to fight for their win.
The last time we competed in the final was 2013 when we came up short against Corstorphine.

No comments:

Post a Comment